Romans

In my very first blog post, The Struggle Bus I covered five moments of learning in my life that have had the biggest impact on who I am today. One of those moments was a brief account of my testimony as a Christian, and if you haven’t had the chance to read it yet I recommend you do because it already is integral to my goal with this blog, and it is only going to become more important in the coming weeks. You see, I am going to be diving in on a passion-based learning project centered around the book of Romans from the bible.

What is a passion-based learning project? In all honesty, it is just like it sounds. It is the idea of students pursuing knowledge on a topic that is of their own choosing. Sometimes these topics exist within school, like learning a new language or researching symbolism in the Harry Potter book series (woohoo for fandoms!), and sometimes ideas are pulled from all areas of life. It is a way to inject fun back into the education system, which has been profoundly lacking for quite some time. The goal of teaching should be to create life-long learners, and passion-based learning is a great way to accomplish just that.

It was easy for me to decide what I would learn over the next fourteen weeks. Although I have many passions in God, church, discipleship, family, friends, reading, writing, education, sports, and true crime there are a reason my top three deal with my Christian faith. Daughter of the one true King is the most important identity I have. John 21:25, “Now there are also many other things that Jesus did. Were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written” gives me great hope that there is indeed a library in heaven filled with all of the incredible works of Jesus (and if there is, Jesus will be there to teach them to me… WOW!) However, I do not know when God will call me home, and until that day it is my desire to learn as much as I can about Him and His glory through His word. I have studied Romans before along with the books of John, Titus, Ruth, and Philippians, but one of the many beautiful things about the bible is that God speaks to you through His word every time you are in it. I plan on completing an in depth study, using a hermeneutical approach (more on that later) and I am so glad you all will be experiencing this joyful journey with me. Check back next week for the first post in this series!

Romans 1

A sneak peak of what is to come… 😀

4 thoughts on “Romans

  1. This is so encouraging to see your faith out in the open and sharing it with others as a learning project. God does speak in different circumstances and He can speak to you through this. I like the comment about Harry Potter and the Bible and finding symbolism in it. I agree that putting fun back into the education system is important and should happen more often than not. Romans is a good book to go over and can’t wait to see more! Your notes are great also!

    Like

    • Thank you for the kind comment. I’ve noticed there are many people in our class that have chosen bible study as their independent learning project. Talk about inspiring. God is definitely on the move! I appreciate you dropping in!

      Like

  2. It’s amazing to see so many young people openly talking about the Bible and their faith. I love that you are doing this. The best part is that this will also help you grow in faith and as a wonderful human being.

    Like

    • I couldn’t agree more! I am so encouraged with everyone who chose biblical studies for their independent learning project. This class is special, too, because we all seem to be passionate about what we chose whether it was scripture or not. Thank you for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

